Formist acknowledges the Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, the traditional owners of the land upon which we operate.

Your Cart

Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery
The First 40 Years

$74.47 USD

A rich document of four decades of seminal Australian art.

Established in Sydney in 1982, Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery has fostered the careers of some of the most influential Australian artists working today. This major new publication, The First 40 Years, is a comprehensive overview of four seminal decades of the Gallery’s representation of these seminal artists, including Tracey Moffatt, David Noonan, Fiona Hall, Patricia Piccinini, Bill Henson and Dale Frank. During this time more than 350 artists have exhibited their work at Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery, with artists hailing from Australia, Europe, the United Kingdom, Asia and the United States.

Written and edited by Felicity Fenner, Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery: The First 40 Years utilises a rich tapestry of stories to collectively document the history of the Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery and explore the extraordinary archives of the Gallery through the eyes of the world’s leading artists, curators and art world figures.

With the history of Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery being intertwined with the history of Australian contemporary art, the publication offers a significant educational resource, with extensive installation imagery of exhibitions presented at the Gallery in chronological order from 1982 through until the current day. This is interspersed with a large number of social photographs documenting exhibition openings and events over the years.

The publication features a foreword by Anna Waldmann, contributions from more than 50 artists, curators and philanthropists, and documentation of over 400 major works by the gallery’s impressive stable of artists including: Gareth Sansom, Jenny Watson, Dale Frank, Julie Rrap, Geoff Lowe (A Constructed World) Bronwyn Oliver, Robert Campbell Jnr, Linda Marrinon, Rosalie Gascoigne, Bill Henson, Kathy Temin, James Angus, Fiona Hall, David Noonan, Tracey Moffatt, Callum Morton, Patricia Piccinini, Destiny Deacon, John Wolseley, Louise Hearman, Bill Culbert, Isaac Julien, Newell Harry, Imants Tillers, Nyapanyapa Yunupiŋu, Marley Dawson, Mikala Dwyer, Daniel Boyd, Del Kathryn Barton, Caroline Rothwell, Jim Lambie, Sarah Contos, Brook Andrew, Renee So, Tom Polo, Kirtika Kain, Kaylene Whiskey and Dhambit Munuŋgurr.

624 Pages
300 × 238 mm
Author/Editor: Felicity Fenner
Design: Mark Gowing Studio
Texts: Brook Andrew, James Angus, Judy Annear, Del Kathryn Barton, Nicholas Baume, Luca Belgiorno-Nettis, Cassandra Bird, Andrew Blake, Sarah Contos, Marley Dawson, Destiny Deacon, Mikala Dwyer, Naomi Evans, Felicity Fenner, Dale Frank, Martin Gascoigne, Fiona Hall, Newell Harry, Bill Henson, Huon Hooke, Isaac Julien, Kirtika Kain, John Kaldor, Amanda Love, Geoff Lowe, Linda Marrinon, Tracey Moffatt, Andrew Moran, Callum Morton, Djon Mundine, Marc Newson, David Noonan, Ohma Oxley, Tom Polo, Caroline Rothwell, Amanda Rowell, Julie Rrap, Gareth Sansom, Victoria Scott, Russell Storer, Will Stubbs, Kathy Temin, Imants Tillers, Jonathan Turner, Jenny Watson, Robert Wellington, John Wolseley

ISBN: 978-0-6455210-2-3
2023 FE045

Shipping is calculated at the checkout.